I Go Out Walking

Today I decided to explore the 2,000 acres behind our house. I have been walking around the neighborhood after the bus takes the kids away, but I was feeling like an adventure today. I got on my trusty pink boots and a walking stick and headed out.

First I saw the usual deer family in the field. We have been giving them food and water so they are used to us. The deer are starving and dying from this severe drought and heat we’re having here in Texas. I was surprised at how aggressive they are with each other, I always thought of deer as mild creatures. A doe will stomp at another doe when eating the corn and kitchen scraps we put out. A few days ago we saw two young bucks rearing up on their back legs and kicking with their front hooves at each other over the food. It’s desperate for all the wildlife here. A hawk was just having a bath in our pool. It was a beautiful creature. Our cats were pressed against the glass doors, tails twitching furiously, watching it.

The catcus are doing OK.

There’s an abandoned farm out there. It is the kind of place I dreamed of finding with my brother when we were kids. We did find an old fort some older kids had left behind, and some empty railroad cars we could explore. What we did not have were poisonous snakes, which is why I brought the walking stick and made sure to poke around in the tall grasses and other suspicious places before moving on. David taught the kids and I that, and how we can eat the red fruit from the cactus if we’re lost and starving.

I can’t help but want to take those old doors and make something out of them. What can I make with all that lumber? Excellent raised garden beds I bet.

This fireplace was made right. It carries on strong and proud. The foundation and the fireplace are all that is left of this little farmhouse. There are cactus where furniture used to be, scorpions instead of people.

The dawn light makes this lost place magical.

I wonder what happened to the people who built all of this. All the labor and care is lost, nature and time crowd in and swallow their history.

It is interesting to me that the barns, the animal shelters, have outlasted the human home. Maybe these people didn’t plan on staying.

This cow got left behind. All that’s left is a hard leather bag of skin loosely holding it’s bones.

Lesson of the day: Taking the road less traveled can reveal new worlds.

About christinaconway

I do stuff, and I'm a mom.

10 responses »

  1. Y’all have acclimated just fine, I see. Looking forward to Labor Day. That tumped over farmhouse is a real thing of beauty. Tumped is a particularly Central TX word that I’m sure will quickly take its place in your vocabulary, along with “fixin’ to….” and other local delights.

    Best,
    Geoff

    Reply
    • christinaconway

      I’m glad y’all plan on coming over (like that, Texan style y’all?). I look forward to acclimating even more.

      Reply
  2. I love this walk! Can we do it together when we come visit??

    Reply
  3. Great tour of your area, Christina!! Do more!

    Reply
  4. Christina's Big Brother

    I miss you, but reading this almost made me feel like we were exploring together again. Love you, Sis.

    Reply
  5. so far I am loving Texas photos even more than LA photos )

    Reply
  6. Wow! That was so eerie and creeped me out a little but I loved it. The barn is great and even comes with a cowhide rug. Cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

